DIY Aquazurra Raffia Pom Pom Heels | Under $30

One of my favorite places to find a super stylish DIY is on LocksandTrinkets blog and YouTube channel. Sometime last year she had posted a video where she recreated the most amazing pair of shoes by Aquazurra. I instantly fell in love and decided that I would try it for myself. Shortly after I purchased a pack of pom pom balls and a pair of open toe wrap around heels from Madden Girl. This project took no time to complete and I couldn’t help but love the finished results. For comparison:

Aquazurra Raffia Pom Pom Stilettos | $825 USD vs. DIY Madden Girl Pom Pom Stilettos | $27 minus tax

Image-1 (2)

What you’ll need:

80 Pack Assorted pom pom balls | $1

2 Pack of Superglue | $1

Open toed strappy heels | Madden Girl | $25

When recreating this DIY I didn’t do everything exactly the same because 1. I couldn’t find my hot glue gun 2. I used one size pom pom balls and 3. I covered the whole strap in pom pom balls instead of focusing on the center.

This took no more than 20 minutes to complete because it is so easy. To help cut down on the production time I laid my pom pom’s out in a sequence that I liked so I wouldn’t have any difficulties when gluing them onto the shoe. This isn’t really necessary but I was going for a more uniform look considering I had eight different color pom poms to choose from. After this I glued the pom poms down and waited for them to dry. The dry time doesn’t take very long but you may want to wait a few minutes before wearing them out to make sure the balls set.

 

name-3

Leave a Reply

